Grilled Chicken Parmesan

I have always been a big fan of Italian food and I always cook an Italian style dish at least once a week. Growing up in an Italian neighborhood I had a lot of exposure to Italian food and pasta from a young age both from my family and the neighbors. While I was never served Chicken Parmesan without the breading as a child, later on as an adult I have had Chicken Parmesan that way a few times at Italian restaurants.

Now as someone who has been gluten free for over six months due to a gluten intolerance, this dish  is one of the dishes that helps me to satisfy my common Italian food cravings. I had first done this recipe as a guest post over a year ago when I had my other recipe blog  (the original post is http://healthyrunnerwife.com/2012/11/27/guest-post-grilled-chicken-parmesan-recipe-gluten-free-2/#comments). I had no idea I was going to end up finding out I was gluten intolerant in a matter of months and simply took the guest post as a challenge. I am glad to have this chicken dish now in my cooking arsenal. I think you all will enjoy this easy to throw together chicken dish. This is great with gluten free spaghetti and tomato sauce on the side or as a chicken dish with other side dishes.  Here is Chicken Parmesan that chicken lovers whether gluten free or not can enjoy together.

Grilled Chicken Parmesan – Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • 1/2 of a teaspoon of Italian seasoning
  • 1 cup of tomato sauce
  • ½ cup of part skim shredded mozzarella
  • 1 Tablespoon of Parmesan Romano (the kind from the pasta aisle is fine, that is what I use)

Directions:

  1. Coat large pan lightly with olive oil cooking spray.
  2. Place chicken in pan and season each piece with ¼ of a teaspoon of Italian seasoning.
  3. Cook chicken on low to medium heat for about 10-15 minutes or until juices run clear, flipping chicken halfway through.
  4. Set chicken aside on a plate and add tomato sauce to the pan. Make sure the pan is on low heat before adding the sauce to the pan.
  5. Put the chicken back in the pan. Make sure to coat both sides of chicken with tomato sauce.
  6. Top each piece of chicken with a light sprinkle of Parmesan Romano and 2 tablespoons of shredded mozzarella.
  7. Cover pan with lid and simmer the chicken in tomato sauce until the cheese melts (about 2-3 minutes).
  8. Serve with side dishes or gluten free pasta  and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

